I’m Going to China!

My district just approved a trip for me to travel to China this April vacation. I will travel with a group of education administrators from the Boston, MA area. We will visit schools in Beijing and Xi’an while attempting to learn about the Chinese education system.

I have traveled to several different countries, but other than a brief stay in Turkey, this will be my first trip to Asia. Aside from the articles I read in the news about the political and economic happenings in China, I could use a boost in my understanding of Chinese culture. In an attempt to blitz my brain with Chinese culture studies before April, I have bought a couple books to read. The first of which is Oracle Bones by Peter Hessler. Mother nature granted me a snow day so I’m planning on starting my China investigation today.

Does anyone have other recommendations for reading up on Chinese culture/society? Have you been to China? If so, any advice?

2 thoughts on “I’m Going to China!

Leave a Reply

